Governing Body

Our Governing Body at Springfield want to make a positive contribution to the children’s education.  Governors provide strategic leadership and accountability to Springfield Infant School.

The key functions of the Governing Body are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies and targets in order to achieve those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making
  • hold the main responsibility for finance in schools
  • work closely with the Senior Leadership Team
  • ensure safeguarding and safer recruitment to promote the welfare of children

Our Governors for this academic year are listed below.

Mr Pawel Kosla Chair of Governors – Co-opted Governor
Mr Andy Hicks Vice Chair of Governors – Parent Governor
Mrs Tanya Andrews Parent Governor
Mrs Sandra Harrison Parent Governor
Post Vacant Co-Opted Governor
Mrs Rebecca Wycherley Head Teacher Governor
Ms Denise Maurice Staff Governor
Mrs Jenny Porter Co-opted Governor
Mr Michael Franklin Co-opted Governor
Mrs Pam Nye Co-opted Governor
Post Vacant Local Authority Governor
Mrs Tara Hunt Clerk to the Governing Body

If you have any comments or questions for the Governing Body at Springfield please contact the Clerk to the Governors via email or telephone (01903) 210243

Alternatively our Parent Governors are usually in the playground at least once a day, so please feel free to make contact with them.


We currently have vacancies for a Community Governor and Local Authority Governor.  Please do get in touch with Mrs Tara Hunt, Clerk to the Governing Body, if you would like further information about these posts.

The Department of Education issued statutory guidance in August 2015 for the publication of Governor’s details and the Register of Interests.

Our Governors hold an important public office and their identity should be known to everyone within our school and the wider community.  To ensure we are compliant with this statutory guidance, our Governing Body has published up-to-date details of its governance arrangements.  To view our governance arrangements for this academic year and also for the last academic year, please follow the link below.

Governance Arrangements 2016 to 2017